4 Horseman Gallery Show

February 26, 2008


hydro_horse2_sm.jpg
hydro_horse_sm.jpg

Ah. One of my first few illustrations this year.  Obviously there have been others, but I cannot show them.  Anyway.  Chris Parks over at Blackout Creations (now PaleHorse) is throwing a gallery show with some local and international designers.  I decided to work on my piece last night and here is the rough.  Once it’s done, I will be getting it screen printed and doing about 100 prints.  This is still a work in progress but it’s getting closer to what I was wanting from the piece. 

16 Responses to “4 Horseman Gallery Show”

  1. Joe Boccia said

    Josh man absolutley bad ass! im kinda feelin a godfather part I feeling from it! rock on! cant wait for the show!!!

  2. erock415 said

    I like the hair Josh. Can’t wait to see the finished piece!

  3. Lookin pretty sick so far! Great work

  4. shanesart said

    I dig the morbid look. The way the muscle shows through the cracks and breaks is pretty cool as well. Definitely going to be a cool pieces! – S

  5. MQ said

    Looks great man! One thing that looks kinda awkward is the floral piece over the muzzle/jaw/whatever the proper horse term is.

    Lovin’ the drips though man.

  6. Chris said

    i saw your name on that list… i was curious what you’d be doing…

    i SO wish i could come down there to see that show.

  7. There are parts of it that are really cool. I almost always love your stuff. Honestly, though, it ‘s not my favorite. I think maybe it’s the proportions… Looks a little more like a pony than a horse.

  8. Actually, I don’t know what I’m talking about.
    I’m sure it will turn out great.

  9. Nice! Like how you can see inside it.

  10. PT said

    Darn your talented. It’s a shame all the creativity comes from regular coffee hits.

    PT

  11. it’s great but it looks kinda weird, think it’s because the neck is missing and it has hair where the neck usually goes into the head…if you get what i mean…besides that it looks like a hydro piece, which is good cause i think they rock!

  12. forgot to mention that the weird neck-hair part doesn’t show on the lower piece…

  13. John said

    Devils advocate… looking good. I just checked out the 4 horsemen reference in the Bible–Revelation 6. Amazing verbal imagery. The splatter/drip at the bottom says a lot. You do great work.

  14. Brian said

    What did the Gay Horse
    say to the other Horse?

    Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyy!

  15. Hey man, I love your work.

    I’d be interested to hear your process for creating new pieces like this.

    Do you draw out the concepts freehand and transfer/scan them into Illustrator or Quark to finish it?

    I’ve worked in oils, acrylics and pastels, but am just starting to get into digital media. I’d love to learn more about it.

Leave a Reply

